Skip to main content

Cherokee Democrats Events

Loading Events

« All Events

Cherokee GA Democrats | Monthly Meeting, SCM & PH Elections

June 13 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Upcoming Elections for State Committee Members and Post Holders at the June 13 Business Meeting.

We invite all local Democrats, Liberals, Independents and left leaning folks to our monthly meeting which takes place on the second Thursday of each month at 7 p.m. in Woodstock. This is a great opportunity to find out what we’re doing, meet new people and candidates, and learn how you can help.

The June 13th meeting will include State Committee Member elections and 2024-2028 Post Holder elections. See below for more information.

We will be meeting at: Allen Temple AME Church, 232 Arnold Mill Rd, Woodstock, GA 30188

For All PostHolder seats expiring in 2024 and recent State Committee Member vacancies

The elections will take place at the June 13 meeting.

Each nominee will be permitted a one-minute speech.


State Committee Members (SCM)

We are now opening nominations to fill State Committee Member vacancies. Any member of Cherokee County Democratic Committee (CCDC) may become an SCM. A person does not have to be a County Committee member (Post Holder) to be elected to the State Committee.

All persons desiring to be candidates for the State Committee Member must sign an affidavit. Click here to complete the State Committee Member affidavit.

Democratic Party state guidelines mandate that the party work in good faith to elect a diverse group based on gender and race. Regular State Committee members shall be elected by the members of the Cherokee County Democratic Committee.

Each SCM serves a four-year term, the currently vacant seats expire in 2026. State Democratic Party meetings are held several times a year and require non-reimbursable travel. State Committee Members vote for officers of the State Democratic Party, state by-law changes, state district chair-people, and may be asked to work on state sub-committees.


Post Holders

The Voting Members of CCD are its Post Holders. Elected to 4 year terms, Post Holders are elected per the bylaws of the Democratic Party of Georgia and the Cherokee County Democrats. Post Holder districts align with those of the County Commissioners. With 4 districts and one At-Large group of Post Holders elected every two years, Post Holders represent the CCD members in their districts and vote on such matters as the CCD budget, any other financial matters, elect Officers and State Committee Members, and chair our subcommittees. All persons desiring to be candidates for PostHolder must sign a Declaration of Intent (DOI). Click here to complete the Post Holder DOI.

All expiring 2024 seats (20) – (expiring PH’s will receive a separate email.)
District 4 – 1 opening – expires 2026
At-Large – 1 opening – expires 2026


If you are interested in any of the above positions complete the affidavit or DOI for the position of interest (links above) by June 3, 2024. If you have any questions please email Nate Rich.


June 13
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Event Category:


Cherokee County Democrats